Springfield XD Forum banner

My New Toy, XD 40 Service

4K views 18 replies 15 participants last post by  gti_devil 
#1 ·
Hey everyone. Im new to the forum and as well a new owner of a XD 40 Service model. I was a 1911 owner and wanted something a little more modern and different. Heres some pics of my first trip to the range with it. I wanted to ask ya guys sense im new to the XDs if there were any pointers i should know about and wheres some good sites for accessories for them. Im still learning to shoot it over my 1911 and am mainly a rifle guy so also any tips in improving my accuracy would be great as well. Thanks

See less See more
#7 ·
geez, i wish i knew how to get quote in from other threads, but go see the posts on the thread "first time handgun owner needs some opinions....." by 12bravo, posted either yesterday or today. i try to read new posts every day. what a bunch you are hooked up with, my friend.

i have the plain old xd 40 3.8" bbl. i have to agree totally with the posts here so far. you have one of the finest weapons God has allowed on this planet, IMO. yeah, it's made in Croatia, but hey, they put together a nice pistol, and the folks at SA were smart enough to stamp their label on it. i think it's one of the 'safest' (as much as a machine can be) SAO (single action only) guns you will ever find, me thinks. my love for it grows with each passing day, as my love for my children did. i like the two tone. got mine new at Waukesha WI gun show when i was able to get three extra mags and mag holder free, all for 439 plus tax and background check fee. that's why i bought it for, the free offer, but man, i am feeling very fortunate that i was steered toward it.

and with your weapon comes the knowledge and expertise of the xdtalkers. they are literate, with good grammar and spelling as a bonus. i could list a bunch of names, but you will know them as time goes on. congrats, madav8r!

#11 ·