My First Trip to the Range: XD-9SC! Two Problems.

Discussion in 'SA-XD/XD(M) Range Reports' started by RonH2K, Dec 6, 2008.

1. RonH2K

RonH2K XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    What a glorious day. After owning my XD-9 Sub-Compact for a couple of painstaking weeks, I finally got to take her to the range. :D I don't have much experience with pistols, so for all intents and purposes I'm really a noob.

GOOD: The Sub-Compact with the standard (non-extended) magazine didn't rock in my hand as much as I thought. And I'm thrilled to say that all of my shots were on the target. Not necessarily in the black, but at least I was on the paper! LOL!

BAD: I did have two problems though. The first was that the slide wouldn't lock back on an empty magazine. The second was that I had 5 casings, out of 50 fired, hang on ejection. They would always hang just a milimeter from apparently clearing the port. Strange.

Or maybe not so strange. Based on some stuff I'm seeing in the forums, I'm guessing both problems are related to my grip interfering with the slide? Am I correct?

I greatly appreciate your input and am so glad there's a place to come with my questions! Thanks!

2. lowdaksport

lowdaksport XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The slide not locking is generally from having your thumb on the slide lock. Ive never had the problem but it seems common. As for the round not ejecting fully. I have only had a couple of those myself in over 1000 rounds. Some say limp wrist could be the problem but I recall a video posted a while back of someone shooting a variety of guns with just a finger and a thumb holding it very loose and the xd did not have any issues. Only the glock 19 or maybe it was a glock 17 did that. So all I can say is maybe limp wrist maybe ammo? What ammo were you shooting?

3. XDConvert9mm

XDConvert9mm XDTalk 10K Member Founding Member

Ratings:
    +69 / 0