Looking for advice on what do first for a new XDM owner

Discussion in 'General SA-XD/XD(M) Talk' started by scottvt98, Sep 9, 2011.

1. scottvt98

scottvt98 XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm a newbie gun owner and I purchased a XDM 9mm (my first handgun). I'm going to be picking up it this weekend. I'm looking for advice from the experts here on what I should do first once I get the gun.

Can I shoot it right out of the box? Should I field strip it first and clean and lube it before shooting it?

Thanks in advance,
    Scott

2. Croesius

Croesius XDTalk 500 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It is ready to go out of the box! It isn't packed in cosmoline, so you don't have to worry about that. It never hurts though, to run a patch down the barrel. Make sure no crud somehow wound up there.

Take a 100 with you, post pics!

EDIT: Oh, and welcome to the club!

3. DixieXD

DixieXD XDTalk 3K Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    +1 out the box. Bring lots of ammo and break those mags in right away. Repeated pressure loosens the spring tension. Load, empty, reload, smile, repeat as necessary.

4. Smoker03

Smoker03 XDTalk Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Do a quick field strip and clean the crap out of the barrel and the rails. These are high production guns that sit in transit for some time. Instructions state to do a field strip and clean before the first outing.

5. PistolEd

PistolEd XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Some things to note, when its brand new, getting a full mag seated into the pistol is tough, but that's normal. Getting the mag full is tough too, you'll need to use the loader. Now, I can load 19rds by hand without the loader and seat the mag without having to slam it.

Otherwise, clean, enjoy, repeat!

6. PCollen

PCollen XDTalk Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0