Loading a nail gun, I feel dumb for asking this

Discussion in 'XDTalk Chatter Box' started by JRB, Apr 20, 2010.

1. JRB

JRB XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm not a total noob when it comes to power / air tools, but I feel really dumb for asking this. I just purchased a Dewalt 16 gauge finish nailer (link). It comes with a 1000 pack of nails, in 50 nail segments. It loads from the back. The "manual" just says:

"1. Lock off trigger. 2. Insert fasteners into the rear of the magazine (G). 3. Pull pusher (H) back until the nail follower falls behind the nails."

Makes sense. But there is a retainer catch inside the magazine that stops the nails from being fed in, I have to get in there with my thumb and try to push them past the retainer with friction from my thumb so that the pusher can get behind the nails. Seems ridiculous to me, but I'm thinking I'm doing something wrong. I can't see a company like Dewalt making something work like that on purpose.

So, here's to hoping someone understands my question, doesn't think I'm an idiot, and can explain how to load this properly. Also, I do see the irony of asking a nail gun question on a handgun forum, but hey, just thought I'd ask anyway.

2. rockerZ71

rockerZ71 XDTalk 5K Member Founding Member

Ratings:
    +41 / 0
    can't help, but I am glad to hear you ended up getting your nail gun

3. CMfromIL

CMfromIL XDTalk 5K Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm sure there will be someone that knows. I've not used a nail gun before, but it doesn't sound correct.

Is there a # to call DeWalt and ask? Good luck, and be safe. Don't want a nail in the head/hand!

4. JRB

JRB XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yea, found it for a steal on Toolking.com (under $100, brand new). Couldn't pass it up, and even got kudos from the wife on finding the deal. Was worried it was going to be a refurb or something, but it's perfectly brand new.

5. Deer Slayer

Deer Slayer XDTalk 4K Member Founding Member

Ratings: