Springfield XD Forum banner

Info about surplus mags

3K views 25 replies 12 participants last post by  cjive134 
#1 ·
I ordered 3 metal surplus mags from sgammo.com and they arrived today. Two of them have a sticky goo on them. Is that cosmoline? What's the best way to clean it off (the inside too)? Also, I don't know what the terminology is, but the metal part that pushes up the lip is pretty crooked on one of them. See the one on the far right in the pic. Is that bad or does it even matter?

See less See more
#4 ·
I'm not an ak expert, but it looks like the follower is being pushed up in a weird way by the spring. And the follower looks different than on the other two mags.

Why don't ya see if it works first. It's an ak, not supposed to be pretty.

#6 ·
The magazine on the left seems to have a damaged (badly bent downwards lip on that one side). Could just be the angle shown in the photo but it doesn't look right. If its bent, it probably won't work right. You might be able to bend it back to the correct angle but I'd be surprised if it ever works right.

As to the cleaning? You've got to get the grease off and then wipe the metal surfaces down with some oil or they'll rust on you.

Can you take the mags. apart? So you can clean the parts better and inspect them? The bottoms (floor plate) should come off and then the spring and follower will come out the bottom and you can see/clean/inspect everything before putting it back together.

#7 ·
the goopy grease is indeed cosmoline. I spent 4.5 hours this past Saturday cleaning it off my Mosin Nagant. I used hot water and dawn dish soap in an aluminum lasagna pan, put the parts in it and took a gun cleaning brush to them. I recommend disassembling the mags and doing the same. After done dry them off and put a light coat of your favorite lubricant on them.