Springfield XD Forum banner

Incapacitation theory: Hollywood vs reality.

6K views 48 replies 22 participants last post by  TSiWRX 
#1 ·
FUNKERTACTICAL Tactical Videos Photos Incapacitation Theory Hollywood Vs Reality Graphic

It seems I've been seeing a lot of videos lately of shootings and people being shot and continuing to fight. These aren't the best videos but it brings up the point that shooting someone is not going to drop them immediately, outside of an incredibly well placed shot. This has made me start to rethink my skills and gear. I carry my xds a lot without a spare mag. I've found myself carrying my g19 way more now. I feel like Hollywood has created this idea of one shot stop/incapacitation. When I first started carrying I thought 7 rounds was plenty. Now that I'm studying and researching self defense shootings I'm realizing what I've thought for a long time to be false. I've never believed one shot would down someone in every case. But I did believe that a few shots would put them down immediately. That's simply not the case. Even after many many shots a person can continue to fight.

Has anyone else come to this realization at some point or have I been duped?

#2 ·
Just had this discussion with my Mother. I have also had this discussion with many people who believe
that a single shot will put people down and out of any fight.
People always go on about how many shots the police used to take someone down.
It is absolutely TV and movies that push the perception of one shot and threat is over. Unless the bad guy is the main antagonist.
My second frequent discussion is gun vs knife attack. A lot of belief that the gun always wins.

Reactions: Rob2
#3 ·