I'm wanting to join the Black Rifle society in a week what do i get?

Discussion in 'AR Talk' started by XDMulisha, Feb 14, 2010.

1. XDMulisha

XDMulisha XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Hi everyone, XDMulisha here, I am a newb to the AR world, well not really, I know how they work etc, but I want my first purchase to be of quality, wanting to spend no more than $1500 on my first black rifle. What do you AR guys feel that I should get, you know; Bushy, DPMS, OA, Colt, S&W, etc. there are just so many and I want the best for that amount. Can anyone point me in the right direction. I mean are the Colts the best way to go. If I had the money I would build one myself from Larue but im not bill gates so help me out here brothers and sisters, thanks

Sincerely,

Peter M.

2. eb_311

eb_311 XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    If that $1500 doesn't include optics, ammo, and extra mags I think you could build yourself a pretty nice rifle exactly like you want it.

3. Dan Carey

Dan Carey XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Rock River, anything else is a compromise.

4. barcode

barcode XDTalk 500 Member Founding Member

Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    I picked up a new Bushmaster M4A3 a couple of years ago for about 1000.00 and never have had a problem with it. I know somebody will put "the chart" up here but get what feels good in your hand and is in your price range.

5. tryingtomakeit

tryingtomakeit XDTalk Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I love my S&W mp15 5.56 she is a very nice piece she has worked for me a lot gone in the buoy a few trips chasing hogs just shake dry and let her eat no rust no problems.............Just my .02

6. goretro77

goretro77 XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I won't sway you to one since I have more than one. You can get any one of these rifles(no mods except for the Ruger that comes with great 'aftermarket' parts out of the box) for the $1500 you mentioned.

I do like Colts. i own a Colt LE6920 -
    [​IMG]