Hunting with a 9mm?

Discussion in 'Hunting' started by nontrad, Feb 7, 2011.

1. nontrad

nontrad XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm sorry about the stupid question, but I'm pretty new to the world of firearms and completely new to the world of hunting, so I figured I'd ask. Does anybody hunt with 9mm handguns?

I mean, conceptually, I guess I could see small game, like rabbits or birds, but is it possible to hunt with a 9mm round?

Thanks ahead of time, guys!

John

2. bigtfw2000420

bigtfw2000420 XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I hunt for raccoon with 9mm

3. CdnInAz

CdnInAz XDTalk 3K Member

Ratings:
    +29 / 0
    small game perhaps, but think about range and accuracy at range - a handgun is no match for a rifle in that regard.

big game - no. Bear for example - the only thing 9mm will do is pizz off the bear, or perhaps put yourself out of misery after the bear mauls you for upsetting him ;)

I have not hunted for years and never really considered myself much of a hunter, but when out to range with either of my two magnum revolvers have met revolver hunters who use magnums. I think anything less than magnum does not have enough power.

4. TucsonDirt

TucsonDirt XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +28 / 0
    I've thought about hunting javelina with a 9mm, probably could do it.
    But I only got back into hunting this year after being out here 10 years.
    I missed a lot of quail this fall!

Here's one for the Ammo Can: 12-year old shotgun shells shoot just fine!

5. CdnInAz

CdnInAz XDTalk 3K Member

Ratings:
    +29 / 0
    not from what I've heard/read - any of the handgun hunters I have met take Javelina with magnums. An acquaintance who bow hunts Javelina has been saying I should join him with my Blackhawk. Tempting, but I am of mindset that what you hunt you must eat, and I have no interest in eating a stinky critter whose closest cousin is a rat.

6. FatCamXD

FatCamXD XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0