How much oil when cleaning

Discussion in 'XD Gunsmithing and Maintenance' started by madav8r, Mar 24, 2012.

1. madav8r

madav8r XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Im new to XD's and polymer frame pistols in general. when i had my 1911 i was told its like an engine on the amount of oil it needs. so now i'm in the habit and probably use to much oil on my XD. How much should i use and will it be bad if it has to much? thanks

Last edited: Mar 24, 2012
  2. CdnInAz

CdnInAz XDTalk 3K Member

Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Ummm, you were told wrong on your 1911. Too much oil can attract crud, develop a lapping compound, which can wear. Also, heavy coating can create hydraulic pressure between moving parts, not good. I prefer a very very light film of quality grease on parts that rub others. Thin coat of oil, wiped off metal parts to protect. Same for xd, just fewer metal parts.

3. richeyo2

richeyo2 XDTalk 5K Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just light on oil not much needed at all. Wipe it down w/an oiled cloth.

4. Frontier Owner

Frontier Owner XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Really depends on the use.

I run my XD pretty dry, but with a bit of grease on between the slide and the frame along with light oil on the metal surfaces. Its my carry gun and I dont want an oil stain on my jeans. I have enough of those.
    My 1911 and AR, I run pretty wet, but they are mostly used at the range.
    Outside of hunting season, I run my shotgun wet, but clean it up and just some critical places on oil when I go hunting.

5. bigdave0924

bigdave0924 XDTalk Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As little as possible to none. Personally I oiled mine when I cleaned it the first time and it hasn't had a drop of oil on it in about 1500 rounds just cleaned twice. These pistols run just as good if not better with no oil than coated heavily in the stuff.

6. apamburn

apamburn XDTalk 500 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0