How do you use the jag for cleaning?

Discussion in 'XD Gunsmithing and Maintenance' started by wingnut1983, Oct 13, 2009.

1. wingnut1983

wingnut1983 XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am a newbie with an XDm 9mm, I just recently learned what the round thing with the point on the end was in my cleaning kit...before I coudlnt fathom what that would be used for. So my understanding is you poke the point through the center of a patch and use it to clean the barrel...right?

How should you use it (properly)?

Thanks

2. VinnAY

VinnAY XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I think that's what it's used for, I just push the patch through with it, inplace of the eyelet. I really haven't used it but on my .17HMR rifle because I couldn't find a .17 eyelet.

3. taylor6400

taylor6400 XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Thats pretty much all there is to it. My personal procedure is to use a bronze brush first...i spray some solvent either down the barrel or on the bruse and run the brush in and out a few times. Put the jag on and run a dry patch through a couple times to get the majority of the gunk out. Then run a solvent soaked patch through on the jag (once i push it through once i usually flip it and run it again) then a dry one with the same procedure till its clean. I usually get the barrel fairly dry at the end and then run a patch through with a LIGHT coating of CLP (not oil). This is my procedure for long guns more so than pistols. Pistols im not so picky...i just get the majority of the gunk out and carry on. I shoot my carry pistols too much to worry about being too picky.

ETA: with the jag you can only push the patch straight through, but if you dont push it out the end of the barrel you can run it back and forth in the barrel as long as you dont push it all the way through. I like the jag better than the eyelett because i think it puts more pressure on the patch and makes it easier to clean.

4. panther308

panther308 XDTalk 1K Member