Hornady or RCBS press

Discussion in 'The Ammo Can' started by sparkysteve, May 28, 2012.

1. sparkysteve

sparkysteve XDTalk 500 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've decided to start reloading. I'm looking at these 2 kits from Cabela's:

Cabela's: RCBS® Rock Chucker Supreme Select Reloading Kit

Cabela's: Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Classic Auto Charge Deluxe Reloading Kit

I'm kind of new to reloading and looking for input on these to brands. I know the Hornady setup has the Lock n Load feature which seems cool. Pretty new to it all. I'm planning to reload .40, .38 Special, .357 Mag, .223, and .30-06. Any experience and input you guys have would be great.

2. rayikeo2

rayikeo2 XDTalk 4K Member

Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    You are looking at the 2 most popular reloading pressed. This makes for a tough decision. I wouldn't be surprised if both of the presses were made by the same manufacturer. You can't go wrong with either press. I have the RCBS because I use all that brand. It comes down to the other items in the groups that you are considering plus the rebates. Electronic powder measurer or manual measurer? Another tough call. The RCBS will need add on rifle and pistol micro meters (another approx $80), can be bought later. I have no information an the reliability of the Hornady scale. It may come down to the rebates, free bullets or $50 rebate.
    Either set will last you a lifetime, with possibility an exception of the electronic scale vs the manual one. Presses don't wear out. Most old timers have the RCBS, but I would be happy with either.

3. rayikeo2

Ratings:
    +4 / 0