HELP with Cleaning and Lubricating the XD

Discussion in 'General SA-XD/XD(M) Talk' started by THE SCARECROW, Feb 18, 2007.

1. THE SCARECROW

THE SCARECROW XDTalk 500 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    OK this is a very NOOB question, but like I have said before, I am kinda new to all this. Is there a good video, or something that anyone knows of, that shows me the proper way to clean and care for my NEW XD 9mm Sub Compact? I have purchased a Hoppes #9 cleaning kit. (LIKE THIS)...HOPPE'S RIFLE, PISTOL OR SHOTGUN CLEANING KIT

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    • Contains the basics for gun cleaning
    • Convenient storage case
    • Oil, patches, solvent, rods and adaptors included

I hope this is a good starter cleaning kit! I will be taking it to the range in a couple of days and would really like to know how to properly clean & lubricate it when I am done.

SORRY for being such a NOOB!!!!

Thanks...Oh and would this be good to have for a NOOB like myself?

Complete Springfield XD

[​IMG]
    #selected_pgroup_link {padding:3px; background:#36c; color:#fff;}
    The Springfield XD pistol has taken the country by storm. First introduced in 2002, this handgun is polymer technology at its best with many features that make it very desirable. In this program, Lenny Magill shows you complete disassembly and reassembly procedures with strict attention to nomenclature of parts and their relationship to one another. If you love your XD you need this program. Information applies to all XD handgun models. 60 minutes.

2. PilgrimChapter33

PilgrimChapter33 XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    There's nothing wrong with that kit at all. That said, I follow a simple cleaning regimen that many here may find disturbingly easy... almost silly. It is minimal, and requires no tools other than a copper bore brush and a toothbrush. I learned it from a special forces operator in town that makes a living training swat teams. If it's good enough for him, it's good enough for me.

1) Field strip