fur trapping and taxidermy with the brush- wolf lady

Discussion in 'XDTalk Chatter Box' started by Brush-Wolf-Lady, Feb 27, 2008.

1. Brush-Wolf-Lady

Brush-Wolf-Lady XDTalk 500 Member

Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Some of you asked, so here ya go- a trapping ( and taxidermy) thread.

Background: I have been doing taxidermy since 1994, and started trapping in 2000 due to foxes killing my chickens in a crazed spree( 32 chickens, 8-9 ducks, 1 turkey, 1 goose- in 2 months). I trap for fur/control in season, and nuisance control year round as needed or as hired. I trap/have trapped red and grey foxes, raccoons, mink, muskrat, beavers, river otters, skunks, and possums. I have yet to catch a coyote or weasel. Maryland also has fisher as a trapable furbearer, but they are found in western MD and would requiring traveling and lodging for me to trap 1.

So I will start this thread with trapping pics, since that seems to be the big interest in the requests.

River otter- this is a real thrill to catch, since they are scarce in my area, but enough of them for a season( bag limit 5). I feel I am helping the trout out.

[​IMG]

Mink- slippery footed lil things, but plentiful, so if 1 out of 5 gets in one of the several traps, that is good.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

beaver and black muskrat

[​IMG]

55 pound beaver and xl male otter

[​IMG]

me with my first otter I ever caught

[​IMG]

dead beaver at set location

[​IMG]

more to come...

2. maddram

maddram XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    great pictures...Not much trapping goes on around here anymore

3. Frenchy

Frenchy <b>Cat Herder</b> Staff Member Founding Member

Near the confluence of the Missouri and Osage
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    Do use Victor's BWL? How do you prepare/de-scent them? Charcoal boil?

4. Brush-Wolf-Lady

Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    caught same day- 39 pound beaver and a huge raccoon

[​IMG]

otter tracks at creek bank edge

[​IMG]

a mink caught in a beaver trap

[​IMG]