First couple 100 rounds through new XDM 9mm

Discussion in 'XD-M Discussion Room - XD(M)' started by SirYancelot, Feb 25, 2009.

1. SirYancelot

SirYancelot XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well, I recently joined this wonderful community after purchasing a new XDM 9mm. I am fairly new to handguns. In October of 2008, I purchased my first semi-auto pistol. For a variety of reasons which I don't care to get into, I purchased a Glock G17. Well, fast forward a few months, and I'm bitten by the bug. I wanted another gun! I'd shot my buddies XD, and held the XDM at my local shop/range and liked what Id read. So, fast forward to last week, and I made the purchase, and went to the range with my beautiful new XDM.
    Being as brief as possible, heres what happened. I shot worse than I ever have. Thinking it may take time to get adjusted to the much different trigger, I went back a couple days later. Again, the results were nasty:evil:. I went back this afternoon with both the G17 and XDM. My groupings with the Glock were maximum 2-2.5". Just beautiful. Switch to the XDM, and I couldn't hit the side of a freakin' barn. Groupings averaged 8-10".

I'm by no means a troll, or trying to start a Glock v. SA debate, I just want some input as to why the heck this may be occuring. I expected greatness from the XDM, just as most of you have reported. Could it simply be the sights are off? I'm not limp wristing it. Any input? I wanna love this brand new beauty, but it's hard to love 8" groupings :)

2. NightWind

NightWind XDTalk 100 Member Founding Member

Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    You sound just like me a few weeks ago and after some advice I managed to pull off the following results the next week after I did:

1. SLOWING DOWN
    2. Standing with feet at shoulder width apart slightly bent
    3. Arms almost extended out when drawing gun
    4. Focusing on front site
    5. Slowly, pull, pull, pull BANG!!! the trigger
    6. Rinse repeat
    [​IMG]

3. King