Fiocchi 123gr FMJTC "COMBAT" rounds???

Discussion in 'The Ammo Can' started by XDAndMe, Sep 19, 2006.

1. XDAndMe

XDAndMe XDTalk 3K Member Founding Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    At the last gun show where I bought my XD9, I also picked up 4 boxes of Fiocchi 9mm ammo that was going for $7/box. It's labeled "123 gr FMJTC (COMBAT)" on the box. The bullets are not normal ball ammo. They have, as the name suggests, a truncated cone to make them pointy.

I looked up the figures this ammo from a distributor's website. They claim a muzzle velocity of 1,250 ft/s and a muzzle energy of 420 ft. lbs. I'm new to this, so I'm going to ask... isn't that really high for a 9mm of its weight?

I was looking around at other ammo on the site, even some +P rounds, and none of their stated energies exceeded 397 ft. lbs. Could this just be a really hot round? Do they do this for penetration? It seems to me that the powder charge on these, combined with the cone bullet, are designed to really go through stuff. :???: I'm kind of scared to use them.

I picked them up because I read great things about Fiocchi online. A few reviewers, not all of them American, praised it for how well it groups and how clean it burns. It's pretty darn cheap, too... and it looks well made. I think the reviews were talking about normal Fiocchi FMJ's though. Not sure.

Anyway, here's a pic (click to enlarge):

[​IMG]

Anybody ever use these? Comments?

2. XDAndMe

Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Don't all talk at once! :p

I didn't think a simple question about whether or not 420 ft. lbs. of energy is too much for a standard pressure 9mm round would be that hard to answer...

[​IMG]

3. Echo5Oscar

Echo5Oscar XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Maybe you should have added something political to your question, or better yet, given it a political title. I'm sure you would have had a dozen responses in the first hour. :p They might have even gotten around to answering your question too. :D

4. agalindo