Define "threaded" barrel

Discussion in 'AR Talk' started by gunzor, Mar 19, 2009.

1. gunzor

gunzor XDTalk 100 Member Founding Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    As you can see, Californian here, designing my first build with many questions.

I've been looking at some barrels, getting an idea of what would be best for me. I see references to "threaded" barrels in some places, and how they won't ship to this state. Are they talking about threaded for flash hiders and comps, or threaded for suppressors? I was always under the impression the former was outside the barrel, while the latter was internally threaded, hence my confusion. Which one can I get and be legal, or will neither of them be available to me?

2. Loves2Shoot

Loves2Shoot Official Site Vendor Supporting Vendor

Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Threaded barrels can hold either a comp OR a suppressor. Generally, they are both threaded externally. I'm not an expert on CA laws, but I believe it is something stupid like no threaded barrels, if you put a comp on it has to be "permanently attached."

3. John A.

John A. XDTalk 3K Member

Ratings:
    +111 / 5
    Barrel threading for an AR is an external thread on the end of the muzzle.

If you can screw anything onto it (muzzlebrake, flash hider, suppressor), then that's a threaded barrel. And for what it's worth, all of your examples are threaded the same anyway.

As Loves to Shoot has pointed out, the ATF has set forth guide lines for permanently attaching things on the end of the barrel to reach the 16 inch minimum length from either pinning and welding, or brazing the attachment to the barrel, but that's on a federal level and I don't know enough about the particular wording of California laws, and don't know if that's acceptable there or not to "defeat" the fact that it's a threaded barrel to begin with. Especially if you'd have to get the barrel and then attach the muzzle device in Kalifornia.