curious... can too much oil hurt the gun?

Discussion in 'XD Gunsmithing and Maintenance' started by duality, Nov 26, 2007.

1. duality

duality XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm still very new to guns and I am going to attempt to clean it in a little bit. I've already had the gun apart and back together 100000 times so thats not what worries me. I just want to make sure how much oil to use.

thanks

2. ColoXD_Fan

ColoXD_Fan XDTalk 5K Member Founding Member

Ratings:
    +123 / 0
    Great question I just cleaned my guns last night and had the same question and was getting ready to post. But you beat me to it. :) Can't wait for responses.

3. Druac

Druac XDTalk 1K Member Founding Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ...but too much oil has the bad side affect of collecting junk. I have been told that you should use it sparingly and only where it is truly needed, such as metal on metal wearing areas. But if you use the good stuff, it only requires a 'drop' or two, literally.

4. xd4life

xd4life XDTalk 3K Member

Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    General rule I follow

-Guns that get little use or safe queens
    Light coat of oil on all parts, meaning it looks wet but but can't draw in it, same with magazines

-carry pistols (I live in the desert)
    Internal parts of the slide are moderately coated with oil, you cant draw in it, but it looks wet, Trigger springs and frame internals light coated with oil, I use a dry lube on my carry mags, I use Pedros it's commonly used on high end bicycle chains.

-Rifles and shotgun
    Light coat on all part, A little heavier if it gonna be in a wet environment, lighter if it's really cold.

-AR
    WET I like to run my bolt with enough oil that it's not running, but wet enough I can draw in it.

5. olyeller

olyeller XDTalk Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As long as you keep the striker channel dry and free of lube, youre good to go.

the only issue with too much oil or lube is if it makes your grip slippery.