Choosing the right powder for 9mm 115gr

Discussion in 'The Ammo Can' started by Mike1388, May 13, 2012.

1. Mike1388

Mike1388 XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm new to reloading and am looking for advice on how to select a powder. I'm loading 9mm 115gr LRN using Hodgdon Titegroup. According to their loading data (Cartridge Loads - Hodgdon Reloading Data Center - data.hodgdon.com), the load should range from 3.9 to 4.3 grs; I'm using the bottom of that range (3.9) figuring it was the safest place to start. I chose Titegroup only because that is what the guy selling powder at the gun show recommended (like I said, I'm new to this).

For the most part I've been successful. I've loaded and fired about 200 rounds and only 5 of them failed to fire (just "poofed"). I don't notice any significant difference between them and store-bought Winchester practice rounds in terms of recoil and accuracy. The only compliant I have is the residue - my reloads produce a lot of smoke from the barrel and residue on the gun and my hands. I don't know if the powder I'm using is just dirtier than others, or if I'm doing something wrong in the loading process.

Any advice/recommendations? I know that no powder is truly "clean" but I'm hoping some are cleaner than others and would like to find one.

2. Silver02ex

Silver02ex XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Titegroup is a love or hate powder. Some like it, and some hate it. Its what I use now along with Winchester 231 with good results. I hope you only bought one pound, that way you are not wasting much if you don't like it. I have to leave the brass in the tumbler a little longer when using Titegroup as oppose to the Winchester.

3. Lopper

Lopper XDTalk 500 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0