Best SOB holster 4 the buck

Discussion in 'M1911' started by mr_payne, Sep 5, 2009.

1. mr_payne

mr_payne XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I carry a SA 1911 full size and im looking for a nice SOB holster, any ideas? The ones ive looked at are nice in the pictures but when held you can tell right away just how poorly they are made and that the leather wouldnt hold out for long. Then their is the top end holsters that for just a plain working man i can't justify spending that kind of price so anyone know of a well made leather holster in the $50 to $70 range?

2. shooterjim

shooterjim XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    i have carried sob for about 5 years now, i found leather holsters don't fit very well and are not comfortable. i have been using an AMS tactical holster for over 4 years. its forms well to your body, very comfortable, and is holding up very well.

NRA LIFE MEMBER
    NAHC LIFE MEMBER

WE CAN ONLY BE WHAT WE GIVE OURSELVES THE POWER TO BE...

3. mr_payne

mr_payne XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thanks for the info shooter i'll check them out

4. shipwreck

shipwreck XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I would get a Bladetech or Comptac IWB holster if I were you.

I am using a Comptac Pro Undercover IWB holster for a Beretta 92 - at 3pm carry. Don't get much bigger in size than the Beretta 92FS. A fullsize 1911 would be the same size.

I can conceal it at 3-3:30pm.

I also sometimes use a Bladetech NANO for my USPc45 (this has a fullsize grip)

SOB - I couldn't conceal a gun that size with a t-shirt.

Also, I used to carry SOB (a Glock 26) for years. When I lived in Dallas many years ago, I slipped on some black ice and fell. THANK GOD I was using my Galco Fletch that day. I would have damaged my spine and maybe been paralized that day had I carried SOB that day.

I had seen people comment on the dangers of SOB carry before. After that day - I NEVER carried SOB again.

5. Archer1945

Archer1945 XDTalk 100 Member