Best guns for $100 $200 $300...

Discussion in 'Non-XD Handguns' started by goody2141, Aug 14, 2010.

1. goody2141

goody2141 XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Alright, I am fairly new to guns, but I love to do research on them. Lately, I seem to have quite a few friends asking me whether guns are good or not. They are often looking for a gun in a certain price range, but for similar uses (usually for fun, and probably defense). So I figured, why not make a thread for all price ranges.

I would like to know which guns you would suggest at each price range. I would say list 1-3 guns for each range, maybe 1 for (9mm, .40, .45), 1 for smaller calibers/carry pistols (.380, makarovs...), and 1 for revolvers.

Ranges
    $100 and below
    $200
    $300
    $400
    $500
    $600

2. zulu45

zulu45 XDTalk 500 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    (These are just my opinion. YMMV)

Under $100, I don't know if any gun exists that would be a good gun for defensive use. You could probably get a used Hi Point for it, and if it's in good condition, and checked for reliability, you could go for that.

For under $200, you could either go for a new Hi Point or a used S&W Sigma. I would opt for the Sigma between the two. You may also find a used Makarov for this price range.

Now, under $300, here we're getting to better choices. I've found some small .38 Special revolvers used for this price range. Try to find a used Ruger SP101 or a used S&W J-Frame. It'll be hard to find it at that price, but it's possible. Be very cautious of the condition. Another great choice is a good quality Makarov, just be prepared to search for ammo (unless you buy online). You could find one in .380, but I'd stick with 9x18 for this gun.