Beginner Help

Discussion in 'The Classroom' started by GTman05, Apr 19, 2013.

1. GTman05

GTman05 XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So. I'm completely new to pistols, not firearms. I bought my XDs last week, I've put about 150rds through it (50 last week, 100 today).

I took a class from the ex-Army Ranger at my local range here in Philly and he instructed me on proper stance/grip etc.

I've been shooting with kind of a modified weaver stance, right arm locked left arm elbow bent, knees bent and right leg behind my left.

I'm right handed but left eye dominant, and I think this is the biggest challenge for me in getting proper sight resolution...saw a recommendation that maybe I should just turn my head 45° to the left so my non dominant eye can't see the front sight...thoughts?

Today I was all over the place, a lot of shots were going low and left (still all but a few were center mass...silver linings I guess). After some reading on this forum and a few youtube videos, I think a big part of my poor shooting today was my grip/trigger pull. I wasn't gripping the gun extremely tight, but wasn't loose either, so from what I understand when one goes to pull the trigger the other fingers reflexively close with the index, and a remedy is to ensure a tight grip on the firearm.

I also was jerking the trigger rather than a smooth pull, and I know I was definitely anticipating the trigger break, probably another reason for my shots being off (flinching/anticipation throwing aim off)

Any advice on why I was shooting like crap today? Only my second time shooting pistols, so obviously theres a learning curve, but I kicked ass the first time I shot with my shotgun as well as with my rifle, so its just awkward having my first few outings with the pistol suck :D

2. prof_fate

prof_fate XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +8 / 1