Backup gun.

Discussion in 'LEO Talk' started by nine387, Oct 3, 2012.

1. nine387

nine387 XDTalk Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    First off, glad to find this thread, I've been running around the XD-S thread for a solid month and didn't realize there was a LEO page! A little background here... I'm a rookie LEO out of Nebraska, been in law enforcement two years, Deputy and Police Officer (don't ask) haha.

I posed this question on the XD-S thread, but only got one, (albeit good) response.I have constantly battled with a good way to carry a back-up on duty. I chose the XD-S to carry, but am lamenting over how to carry it.

I thought a belly-band may be the way to go because I want to be damn sure the thing stays put when I go hands on, and since we don't carry TASER's that's pretty often. I've never even looked at or seen any belly-bands in person, thoughts from guys that use these would be appreciated.

Another contributor on the XD-S thread mentioned keeping it in a cargo pant pocket, which would be great if we had that option, but I wear slick side pants, no cargo pockets.

IWB; don't think I can pull this off, there's enough on my belt as it is.

Finally, ankle carry, I just don't think it's practicle. SHTF and you need to drop to your ankle? I don't see that working well.

Thoughts?

2. The Fuzz

The Fuzz XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Howdy Nine. Back again. :cool:

I know a couple of guys who use a generic Uncle Mikes holster that wear the gun attached the their vest under their support side shoulder. To access in a pinch, reach in through your shirt (ripping the buttons off as necessary) and draw with the stong side hand. I've never really understood how that works as my vest is uncomfortable enough as it is, but it would be another option to consider if allowed by your department. You might need to have the uniform tailor add a little slack to that side of the shirt to accommodate the holster though, depending on how it fits.