a few ?'s from a rookie wanting to improve his 4"

Discussion in 'XD-45ACP Discussion Room' started by Heelsby20, Aug 23, 2011.

1. Heelsby20

Heelsby20 XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've put a few thousand rounds through my 4" .45 XD and now i want to change a few things. I've been checking out Springer Precision. I've never done ANY customization to a pistol before, so i wanted to get a few pointers/tips from you guys first. 2 questions

1: Are there any disadvantages to reducing the strength of my recoil spring? I've seen a few that have a 16lb rating. My first thought when i pulled this gun out of the box was, "Man! I get a workout just pulling the slide!"

2: I may be spoiled from my kimber, but i feel the trigger has alot of travel in it. I dont mind the pull weight so much, just the distance. SP has a trigger kit for $130, is it worth it? Could I install it?

Thanks guys!!!

2. Dirty Rod

Dirty Rod XDTalk 3K Member Founding Member

Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Springer makes a good kit as does PRP and they provide good instructions and will help if you need to call them. That said, the kits will improve the trigger by reducing the travel but don't expect it to be a 1911 trigger. The trigger job will get it close just don't expect it to feel exactly like the Kimber. if you've never worked on a gun before and are not familiar with doing safety checks then sending it in is a good option.

I'll let others chime in on the spring change. Too light can cause different issues but mine are Compacts with a captured spring assembly. No idea about the spring rates in the Service model.

Welcome BTW!

3. ThumperIII

ThumperIII XDTalk 1K Member Founding Member

Ratings:
    +3 / 0