9mm SD rounds

Discussion in 'The Ammo Can' started by gunnut1012, Oct 24, 2011.

1. gunnut1012

gunnut1012 XDTalk Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    im new to the fourm and this question might have already been answered on here so forgive me if it is.

i am loooking for a low grain 9mm hollow point self defense round for CC. i want a round that has good expansion but is not going to over pentrate and hurt some one behind the threat. any one have a round in mind that can do this?

2. Marc82much

Marc82much XDTalk Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I use Extreme Shock (extremeshockusa.com). Shot 5-6 bad guys and not one survived.

3. Cuda66

Cuda66 XDTalk 10K Member

Kandiyohi County, MN--land of fields and lakes.
    Ratings:
    +51 / 0
    Ok...

First off...clear up a misconception about JHP's overpenetrating. In short, any properly functioning JHP likely won't. Very few JHP's that open up leave the body; most are stopped under the skin on the oppsite side. The few that do are mostly stopped by clothing...and the few of those that aren't are usually found lying on the ground a few feet away. In short, in the unlikely event of the round clearing your target, it's spent.

Second--in order for a round to be effective, it needs to punch deep into the body, where the vital structures are located. A lightweight JHP just won't do that, lessening the chance of causing a stopping wound. That means you have to shoot more, and in a dynamic situation, tha means the likliehood of more misses. Missed rounds are a LOT more dangerous than a round that might maybe, but probably won't punch clean through.

Third--Extreme Shock is a mall ninja gimmick load. Avoid it.

The lightest I'd ever consider is the 115gr +P DPX, or the 115gr Barnes in any other loading (Black Hills and Wilson Combat are both loading this bullet as well as Cor-Bon). It's a bullet with a decent track record.

4. fredj338

fredj338 XDTalk 10K Member

Ratings:
    +6 / 0