• Gallery
  • Social Groups
  • Search
  • Today's Posts
  • Mark Forums Read
  • Register
  • Advertise

fur trapping and taxidermy with the brush- wolf lady

This is a discussion on fur trapping and taxidermy with the brush- wolf lady within the XDTalk Chatter Box forums, part of the XD Talk category; Some of you asked, so here ya go- a trapping ( and taxidermy) thread. Background: I have been doing taxidermy since 1994, and started trapping ...

Breadcrumb Image XDTalk Forums - Your XD/XD(m) Information Source! » XD Talk » XDTalk Chatter Box » fur trapping and taxidermy with the brush- wolf lady

Old 02-27-2008, 05:55 PM   #1
XDTalk 500 Member

Member #: 21036
fur trapping and taxidermy with the brush- wolf lady

Some of you asked, so here ya go- a trapping ( and taxidermy) thread.

Background: I have been doing taxidermy since 1994, and started trapping in 2000 due to foxes killing my chickens in a crazed spree( 32 chickens, 8-9 ducks, 1 turkey, 1 goose- in 2 months). I trap for fur/control in season, and nuisance control year round as needed or as hired. I trap/have trapped red and grey foxes, raccoons, mink, muskrat, beavers, river otters, skunks, and possums. I have yet to catch a coyote or weasel. Maryland also has fisher as a trapable furbearer, but they are found in western MD and would requiring traveling and lodging for me to trap 1.

So I will start this thread with trapping pics, since that seems to be the big interest in the requests.

River otter- this is a real thrill to catch, since they are scarce in my area, but enough of them for a season( bag limit 5). I feel I am helping the trout out.

Mink- slippery footed lil things, but plentiful, so if 1 out of 5 gets in one of the several traps, that is good.

beaver and black muskrat

55 pound beaver and xl male otter

me with my first otter I ever caught

dead beaver at set location

more to come...