• Gallery
  • Social Groups
  • Search
  • Today's Posts
  • Mark Forums Read
  • Register
  • Advertise

Are steel targets dangerous?

This is a discussion on Are steel targets dangerous? within the XDTalk Chatter Box forums, part of the XD Talk category; Are steel targets dangerous? I am a newbie to range shooting and I was just curious....

Old 02-17-2011, 06:11 PM   #1
XDTalk Member

Member #: 52719
Are steel targets dangerous?

Are steel targets dangerous? I am a newbie to range shooting and I was just curious.
18436572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 02-17-2011, 06:15 PM   #2
XDTalk 85K Member

Member #: 14053
They can be if they are too close to the shooter. Ricochets have been known to cause injuries.
Old 02-17-2011, 06:19 PM   #3
XDTalk Member

Member #: 52719
Quote:
Originally Posted by slugger6 View Post
They can be if they are too close to the shooter. Ricochets have been known to cause injuries.

Thanks, how close is too close with a .40 cal ? I was going to ask about ricochets but I didn't know how to spell it.
18436572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 06:57 PM   #4
XDTalk Member

Member #: 52840
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18436572 View Post
Thanks, how close is too close with a .40 cal ? I was going to ask about ricochets but I didn't know how to spell it.
Depends, it is a lot to do with physics. I can't say what a safe distance is myself but I usually don't get closer than 10 ft. Sometimes it is not ricocheting bullets, but fragments that can bounce back at the shooter depending on certain rounds.

E&E before CQB
Decisively Ambivalent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 07:04 PM   #5
XDTalk 10K Member

Member #: 44190
I've shot 9mm and .45acp at 9-11 yds, no fragments came back at me. Your mileage may vary.
Old 02-17-2011, 07:08 PM   #6
XDTalk 100 Member

Member #: 36575