• Gallery
  • Social Groups
  • Search
  • Today's Posts
  • Mark Forums Read
  • Register
  • Advertise

Loading a nail gun, I feel dumb for asking this

This is a discussion on Loading a nail gun, I feel dumb for asking this within the XDTalk Chatter Box forums, part of the XD Talk category; I'm not a total noob when it comes to power / air tools, but I feel really dumb for asking this. I just purchased a ...

Breadcrumb Image XDTalk Forums - Your XD/XD(m) Information Source! » XD Talk » XDTalk Chatter Box » Loading a nail gun, I feel dumb for asking this

Old 04-20-2010, 01:11 PM   #1
JRB
XDTalk 100 Member

Member #: 43361
Loading a nail gun, I feel dumb for asking this

I'm not a total noob when it comes to power / air tools, but I feel really dumb for asking this. I just purchased a Dewalt 16 gauge finish nailer (link). It comes with a 1000 pack of nails, in 50 nail segments. It loads from the back. The "manual" just says:

"1. Lock off trigger. 2. Insert fasteners into the rear of the magazine (G). 3. Pull pusher (H) back until the nail follower falls behind the nails."

Makes sense. But there is a retainer catch inside the magazine that stops the nails from being fed in, I have to get in there with my thumb and try to push them past the retainer with friction from my thumb so that the pusher can get behind the nails. Seems ridiculous to me, but I'm thinking I'm doing something wrong. I can't see a company like Dewalt making something work like that on purpose.

So, here's to hoping someone understands my question, doesn't think I'm an idiot, and can explain how to load this properly. Also, I do see the irony of asking a nail gun question on a handgun forum, but hey, just thought I'd ask anyway.
JRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 04-20-2010, 01:13 PM   #2
XDTalk 5K Member

Member #: 13497
can't help, but I am glad to hear you ended up getting your nail gun