• Active Topics
  • Gallery
  • Social Groups
  • Search
  • Today's Posts
  • Mark Forums Read
  • Register
  • Advertise

curious... can too much oil hurt the gun?

This is a discussion on curious... can too much oil hurt the gun? within the XD Gunsmithing and Maintenance forums, part of the XD Talk category; I'm still very new to guns and I am going to attempt to clean it in a little bit. I've already had the gun apart ...

Old 11-26-2007, 02:25 PM   #1
XDTalk Newbie

Member #: 21854
curious... can too much oil hurt the gun?

I'm still very new to guns and I am going to attempt to clean it in a little bit. I've already had the gun apart and back together 100000 times so thats not what worries me. I just want to make sure how much oil to use.

thanks
duality is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 11-26-2007, 02:34 PM   #2
XDTalk 5K Member

Member #: 20497
Great question I just cleaned my guns last night and had the same question and was getting ready to post. But you beat me to it. Can't wait for responses.
Remington 870 express 12 gauge
Savage .17 BVTS
Old old .22 rifle
DPMS AP4 .308
PSE Brute 50-60#

"Worse $hit happens to better people" - Me.
ColoXD_Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:48 PM   #3
XDTalk 1K Member

Member #: 21461
I'm no expert...

...but too much oil has the bad side affect of collecting junk. I have been told that you should use it sparingly and only where it is truly needed, such as metal on metal wearing areas. But if you use the good stuff, it only requires a 'drop' or two, literally.
"Procreation Certification" - Me
Druac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 03:22 PM   #4
XDTalk 3K Member

Member #: 6823
General rule I follow

-Guns that get little use or safe queens
Light coat of oil on all parts, meaning it looks wet but but can't draw in it, same with magazines

-carry pistols (I live in the desert)