• Gallery
  • Social Groups
  • Search
  • Today's Posts
  • Mark Forums Read
  • Register
  • Advertise

American Legion vs. VFW

This is a discussion on American Legion vs. VFW within the U.S. Military Services & Veterans forums, part of the Protect & Serve category; I'm new to this whole veteran thing, I just joined the American Legion and will be headed to the Post in the next week to ...

Old 03-01-2012, 12:16 PM   #1
XDTalk 4K Member

Member #: 18081
American Legion vs. VFW

I'm new to this whole veteran thing, I just joined the American Legion and will be headed to the Post in the next week to see what it is all about.

So for those of you who have been around for a while, what does the American legion do and how does it compare to the VFW (which I also don't understand)?

My only exposure to those groups was when I volunteered to serve food on the Friday night fish fries or steak night at the VFW when I was younger and seeing a bunch of old men with a crap ton of pins in their funny hats at parades. (No offense to anyone here, I'm looking forward to being one of those guys I'm just trying to make light of how it has looked to me from the outside!)
Remove Ads
Old 03-01-2012, 01:59 PM   #2
XDTalk 4K Member

Member #: 16572
The two vary from place to place ... Some are better that others. I've been a member of both, and also Vietnam Veterans of America. I got miffed at the VFW last election because their VFW Foundation was supporting lefty democrats, and so I let my membership lapse.

The VFW used to have a rep for being a bunch of drunks brow beating younger Veterans, but have tried cleaning up their act recently, because all the old guys are dieing off, and they need younger members.

The VFW only accepts people with a campaign medal (or at least that's the way it used to be). The American Legion accepts just about any former military. Not just war veterans. I think that is the only real difference. Both also do a lot more community involvement stuff.