• Gallery
  • Social Groups
  • Search
  • Today's Posts
  • Mark Forums Read
  • Register
  • Advertise

Backup gun.

This is a discussion on Backup gun. within the LEO Talk forums, part of the Protect & Serve category; First off, glad to find this thread, I've been running around the XD-S thread for a solid month and didn't realize there was a LEO ...

Old 10-03-2012, 11:35 PM   #1
XDTalk Member

Member #: 78848
Backup gun.

First off, glad to find this thread, I've been running around the XD-S thread for a solid month and didn't realize there was a LEO page! A little background here... I'm a rookie LEO out of Nebraska, been in law enforcement two years, Deputy and Police Officer (don't ask) haha.

I posed this question on the XD-S thread, but only got one, (albeit good) response.I have constantly battled with a good way to carry a back-up on duty. I chose the XD-S to carry, but am lamenting over how to carry it.

I thought a belly-band may be the way to go because I want to be damn sure the thing stays put when I go hands on, and since we don't carry TASER's that's pretty often. I've never even looked at or seen any belly-bands in person, thoughts from guys that use these would be appreciated.

Another contributor on the XD-S thread mentioned keeping it in a cargo pant pocket, which would be great if we had that option, but I wear slick side pants, no cargo pockets.

IWB; don't think I can pull this off, there's enough on my belt as it is.

Finally, ankle carry, I just don't think it's practicle. SHTF and you need to drop to your ankle? I don't see that working well.

Thoughts?
nine387 is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 10-04-2012, 02:51 AM   #2
XDTalk 1K Member

Member #: 14312
Howdy Nine. Back again.