• Active Topics
  • Gallery
  • Social Groups
  • Search
  • Today's Posts
  • Mark Forums Read
  • Register
  • Advertise

Right handed, left eye dominant.. how to shoot?

This is a discussion on Right handed, left eye dominant.. how to shoot? within the The Classroom forums, part of the Use and Training category; I am right handed, but my left eye is dominant. Should I shoot with my left or right eye closed? I'm used to shooting with ...

Breadcrumb Image XDTalk Forums - Your XD/XD(m) Information Source! » Use and Training » The Classroom » Right handed, left eye dominant.. how to shoot?

Old 10-25-2010, 09:18 PM   #1
XDTalk Newbie

Member #: 49740
Exclamation Right handed, left eye dominant.. how to shoot?

I am right handed, but my left eye is dominant. Should I shoot with my left or right eye closed? I'm used to shooting with my left eye closed, but I just noticed earlier that I can see the target much better if I closed my right eye and aim through my left eye.

I'm a newbie at shooting, by the way. I shot a gun for the first time 2 months ago at 30 years old.
Robotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 10-25-2010, 09:39 PM   #2
XDTalk 20K Member

Member #: 22547
Welcome to our sport and forum! So you are pretty sure you are cross-dominant... take a quick read of this article just to be sure:
How to overcome cross-dominance - North Carolina Sportsman

There's a paragraph about mid-article that mentions shooting cross-dominant with a hand gun is pretty easy... just tilt/turn your head slightly to get your dominant eye over the sight. Taking your normal stance, you can also shift the gun's position an inch or so over toward the dominant eye.

Alternatively, you can also practice to train your non-dominant eye for use. Just place a piece of tape, a bandage or patch over your shooting glasses' dominant eye lens... forcing yourself to use the "weak" eye.