• Gallery
  • Social Groups
  • Search
  • Today's Posts
  • Mark Forums Read
  • Register
  • Advertise

total newbie to ARs, need your help

This is a discussion on total newbie to ARs, need your help within the AR Talk forums, part of the Long Gun Talk category; attempting my first build already bought: spikes forged lower spikes enhanced lower kit spikes buffer assembly magpul str stock now im working on the upper ...

Breadcrumb Image XDTalk Forums - Your XD/XD(m) Information Source! » Long Gun Talk » AR Talk » total newbie to ARs, need your help

Old 01-23-2012, 10:28 PM   #1
XDTalk Newbie

Member #: 67030
total newbie to ARs, need your help

attempting my first build

already bought:
spikes forged lower
spikes enhanced lower kit
spikes buffer assembly
magpul str stock

now im working on the upper and i didnt know if i should:
1. go forged [$115] or billet [$225] for the upper receiver
2. go forged [$23] or billet [$33] charging handle
3. go standard phosphate [$110] or NiB [$220] bcg
4. go chrome lined barrel [$189] or lothar walther stainless barrel w/ mid length gas [$330]
**and is the gas piston really worth the extra $$$

i'm on a tight leash when it comes to the money but i also don't mind spending a little extra on the things that might benefit me later down the line. i don't plan on selling any of my guns so i want to make sure that they don't belly up on me a few years down the line.

so please, all your wisdom, experience, and input would be much appreciated. thanks again!
basheesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 01-23-2012, 11:09 PM   #2
XDTalk Member

Member #: 53130
1. Forged - stronger and standard
2. Whatever you want. Not much difference. BCM gunfighter is nice, but easily changed later.