• Gallery
  • Social Groups
  • Search
  • Today's Posts
  • Mark Forums Read
  • Register
  • Advertise

Hornady or RCBS press

This is a discussion on Hornady or RCBS press within the The Ammo Can forums, part of the Armory Talk category; I've decided to start reloading. I'm looking at these 2 kits from Cabela's: Cabela's: RCBS® Rock Chucker Supreme Select Reloading Kit Cabela's: Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Classic ...

Old 05-28-2012, 07:41 AM   #1
XDTalk 500 Member

Member #: 53320
Hornady or RCBS press

I've decided to start reloading. I'm looking at these 2 kits from Cabela's:

Cabela's: RCBS® Rock Chucker Supreme Select Reloading Kit

Cabela's: Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Classic Auto Charge Deluxe Reloading Kit

I'm kind of new to reloading and looking for input on these to brands. I know the Hornady setup has the Lock n Load feature which seems cool. Pretty new to it all. I'm planning to reload .40, .38 Special, .357 Mag, .223, and .30-06. Any experience and input you guys have would be great.

Gun Control has more to do with control than with guns.
sparkysteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 05-28-2012, 08:08 AM   #2
XDTalk 3K Member

Member #: 27854
You are looking at the 2 most popular reloading pressed. This makes for a tough decision. I wouldn't be surprised if both of the presses were made by the same manufacturer. You can't go wrong with either press. I have the RCBS because I use all that brand. It comes down to the other items in the groups that you are considering plus the rebates. Electronic powder measurer or manual measurer? Another tough call. The RCBS will need add on rifle and pistol micro meters (another approx $80), can be bought later. I have no information an the reliability of the Hornady scale. It may come down to the rebates, free bullets or $50 rebate.