• Gallery
  • Social Groups
  • Search
  • Today's Posts
  • Mark Forums Read
  • Register
  • Advertise

Installing a PID on my Lee Pro furnace

This is a discussion on Installing a PID on my Lee Pro furnace within the The Ammo Can forums, part of the Armory Talk category; Let me start off by saying that I'm fairly new to casting. When I decided to get into it, I bought the Lee Pro 4 ...

Breadcrumb Image XDTalk Forums - Your XD/XD(m) Information Source! » Armory Talk » The Ammo Can » Installing a PID on my Lee Pro furnace

Old 05-05-2011, 01:06 AM   #1
XDTalk 100 Member

Member #: 52814
Installing a PID on my Lee Pro furnace

Let me start off by saying that I'm fairly new to casting. When I decided to get into it, I bought the Lee Pro 4 20 Lb Furnace because it was inexpensive and had good reviews in the user community. The only downside to using this furnace was temperature control. It has a rheostat with numbers from 1 - 10 for controlling the amount of current going to the coils to heat up the lead.

This created an issue for me. In order to tell what temperature I was at, I bought a VWR Traceable Workhorse Thermometer 4425. I would constantly have to check the temperature and could only maintain it within 20F - 30F of my desired 700F. It was a pain to do and time consuming. Occasionally, I would find myself way above the desired temperature resulting in burning off my tin and causing some nice colors to form on top or I'd find myself way too low and my pours would slow down to a trickle. There had to be a better way other than buying another pot that had temperature control.