• Gallery
  • Social Groups
  • Search
  • Today's Posts
  • Mark Forums Read
  • Register
  • Advertise

.40 S&W - 165 gr. vs. 180 gr.

This is a discussion on .40 S&W - 165 gr. vs. 180 gr. within the The Ammo Can forums, part of the Armory Talk category; Hi everyone...I'm a newbie on the website and really appreciate you taking the time to read my post. If it is a topic that has ...

Old 04-18-2011, 03:29 PM   #1
XDTalk Newbie

Member #: 57161
Question .40 S&W - 165 gr. vs. 180 gr.

Hi everyone...I'm a newbie on the website and really appreciate you taking the time to read my post. If it is a topic that has already been covered, I apologize and would appreciate any links to relevant information.

I'm just wondering what people's experiences are when changing from 165 grain to 180 grain loads for .40 S&W.

I've had my XDM (4.5" barrel) for about 8 months now, and maybe have about 1,000 rounds through it. I've always shot 165 grain Winchester "white box" ammo from walmart.

I've never really been too pleased with my accuracy, but I realize that it's something I need to continue to practice. However, I once read somewhere that someone else was having issues shooting 165 gr. through their XD or XDM, and they experienced an improvement when they changed to 180 grain.

So, just for sh*ts and giggles, I decided to try a box of 180s, and I swear that I was more consistent with better groupings. With the 165s, I tended to shoot low at 20', and maybe would have 20% of my shots be outside of a well-defined group ("fliers" I like to call them).

When I switched over to 180s, I seemed much more consistent, with a better centered grouping, and maybe only 5% of my shots that I would consider "fliers".

FYI - I was switching back and forth between 165 and 180 so the number of shots I had taken, or fatigue, etc. wouldn't be a factor.