• Gallery
  • Social Groups
  • Search
  • Today's Posts
  • Mark Forums Read
  • Register
  • Advertise

Plated vs. Lead vs. FMJ

This is a discussion on Plated vs. Lead vs. FMJ within the The Ammo Can forums, part of the Armory Talk category; I'm just getting started on reloading and have a question about bullets for my XD-40. I can buy hard cast lead, plated and FMJ. I've ...

Old 05-12-2010, 08:07 PM   #1
XDTalk 5K Member

Member #: 4352
Plated vs. Lead vs. FMJ

I'm just getting started on reloading and have a question about bullets for my XD-40.

I can buy hard cast lead, plated and FMJ. I've heard that hard cast will cause lead fouling in the barrel.

I know FMJ doesn't have that issue, but do plated bullets?

These are what I was looking at.
http://berrysmfg.com/product-i14499-...0gr_FP_DS.aspx

http://berrysmfg.com/product-i14563-..._180gr_FP.aspx

Just asking.
"For those of us who exercised our privilege to serve our country, I can honestly say we did it proudly and shared a common bond of patriotism that those who were unwilling to answer our country's call will never understand or appreciate." - Dennis Foell
gsh341 is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 05-12-2010, 08:27 PM   #2
XDTalk 2K Member

Member #: 25494
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsh341 View Post
I'm just getting started on reloading and have a question about bullets for my XD-40.

I can buy hard cast lead, plated and FMJ. I've heard that hard cast will cause lead fouling in the barrel.

I know FMJ doesn't have that issue, but do plated bullets?

These are what I was looking at.
http://berrysmfg.com/product-i14499-...0gr_FP_DS.aspx

http://berrysmfg.com/product-i14563-..._180gr_FP.aspx

Just asking.
Generally, plated will not have any lead problems. The only exception I can think of would be if you pushed them so fast that the plating separated, exposing the lead.

Couple of things: